Old books

Grammy Lynn and Grampy Don gave us a huge box of books when the kids were young(er), books that were Alan and Amanda’s when they were kids.  It’s interesting reading them now.  Some are fun, some are classics and we have new copies of the exact same book, and others are just plain weird.  Many use the word “gay” in it’s original meaning, which is noteworthy only because no books use that word for that meaning today.  What made me think of this is last night I was reading Julius by Syd Hoff (author of Danny and the Dinosaur of which, at one point, we had four copies!).  The book is all about a man and boy who go to the jungle to find a gorilla for their zoo.  All the animals want to go to the zoo and are disappointed that only the gorilla is allowed to go.  Another book we have has a similar theme, something about elephants and they all want to go to the zoo.  I don’t think they write books like that anymore, do that?  These days it seems like zoos are an evil necessity, not a glamorous place where the animals all want to live.  The original Curious George is written such that George is living happily in the jungle, eating his bananas, and then the Man With The Yellow Hat “rescues” him from his normal life and brings him to a zoo.  Like this is a good thing.  Weird.

There are a few books that I have gotten rid of because I don’t like the general message, including “What Mommy Does” and “What Daddy Does.”  I laughed though, because a few days after getting rid of those two books I read a blog where the lady was talking about how much she loves these books and how important it is to teach these things.  Perhaps kids can just observe what mommies and daddies do these days, because a lot has changed since the writing of those books (even in our relatively traditional house)!  It’s fun to see how the content of kids books has changed through the years.

We got the bookshelf painted and put into the kids room so last night we went through the books and sorted them and put them on the shelf.  We have a lot of books!  I’m going to cull out a few more when the kids aren’t around (just the broken, missing pages, falling apart ones) but they like to cling to every single page, whether it’s attached to a book or not, so I have to do my collection trimming when they aren’t around.  Shhh….. ;)

Soon we’ll be getting out the holiday books too.  Yay!

On a completely different note, Alan and I are going out tonight.  I’m excited.  We’ve got a babysitter for the first time in awhile and we’re going to dinner and to see Red.  I hope it’s a good movie!  The previews look funny.

God songs

Eve came down from nap today and told me that she was singing God songs to puppy.  After nap she often likes to hang out in her room for a bit, on the days I don’t have to wake her up to rush out the door!  She sat on the floor and asked if I wanted her to sing to me.  Heck yeah!  So she sang, “The Lord can hear the cries of the poor.”  That’s the only line she knows so she sang it a few times before announcing, “That’s from Mema’s church!!”  :)  I love her singing voice.  Maybe I need to get her to church more often.

Painting the bookshelf

After much delay we finally, FINALLY got around to painting the bookshelf.  But “we” I mostly mean “me” because the kids have been dying to do it almost every day, but it took me awhile to gather the materials and motivation.  I mostly wanted to do it while Lex was at school and Eve was napping, but it didn’t quite work out that way.  In hindsight I’m glad it didn’t!  We all had a really fun time and the kids did a super good job of listening and being careful.  Hopefully it will dry tonight and we can do another coat (or two, I didn’t use primer) tomorrow.  Maybe by next week it will actually have books on it :)

painting the bookshelf - p1

painting the bookshelf - p2

Cheesy Cauliflower Casserole

For those of you who think I do nothing but bake all day, here is a healthier recipe.  I rejoined Weight Watchers this week so the baking has been put on hold for awhile (but with the holidays so near I don’t think it will be too long!)  This recipe is adapted from a WW magazine.  I’ve made it a few times and I think it is yummy.  Alan mostly agrees, though I think he’d take something full-fat and loaded with chicken over this :)

Cheesy Cauliflower Casserole

1 c. shredded Swiss cheese (divided in half)
1/4 c. grated Parmesan
6 c. steamed cauliflower florets
3 Tbsp flour
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp cayenne
1 clove of garlic, minced
1 1/2 c. fat-free half-and-half
3 Tbsp chopped parsley (I used the freeze dried variety)

Mix 1/2 cup of Swiss cheese with the Parmesan and set aside.

Put the steamed cauliflower into a 2qt baking dish.

Heat the half-and-half over a low heat, add flour, salt, cayenne, and garlic. Cook until it thickens, whisking frequently, about 4 minutes. Add the other 1/2 cup of Swiss cheese and parsley.

Pour over the cauliflower and top with mixed cheeses.

Broil 3-5 minutes, until golden brown on top.

3 POINTS per 1 cup serving. Variations: use low-fat Swiss cheese to reduce points to 2 per 1 cup serving. The original recipe also said to added 3 oz. Canadian bacon strips at the end with the cheese and parsley. I skipped that step, obviously. It will also increase the points value.

PS. Sorry no fancy photo! I didn’t think about posting the recipe until after the leftovers were tucked nicely (and messily!) away in the fridge.

Back in the water!

The kids were thrilled today to be back in the pool! We started lessons again today after taking the summer off to swim in outdoor water.

Lex in the pool

Lex in the pool! After a seriously painful case of red eyes last year, Lex decided to brave the goggles this time around. On the way back to the car he said "I think the goggles did a good job! My eyes feel fine."

Eve in the pool

Eve in the pool! Rocking the pink goggles! :) The boy on the left is also in her preschool class. That was a fun surprise.

I was a little bummed, again, by the scheduling situation. Two sessions ago (probably a year or so ago by now), Eve’s swim teacher said she was progressing rapidly and ready to move up a level. So I signed her up for the next level when we renewed. She was enrolled in the same class as Lex. They were super excited about it, but when we got to the first lesson we were told that there wasn’t enough room in his class, so they put her back in the preschool class again. She loves that teacher and was happy enough, but definitely not challenged. I was annoyed. This time they were offering a “preschool” class for newbies to the water and a “preschool 1” class to 3-4yr olds who were comfortable in the water. I signed Eve up for “preschool 1” of course, but when we got there today we found out that they didn’t have enough enrolled for both classes, so they combined them! Ugh! This time I was much more forward with the instructor (who, by the way, is awesome!) I told her that I felt the last session was a waste of money for Eve and I was frustrated by that. She said “Let’s see what the mix is in this class.” Turns out the “mix” was Eve and another somewhat confident kid, then a bunch of kids afraid of the water. Ugh. After the lesson ended her instructor went over to the lesson coordinator and then came to me and said “Eve definitely needs to be moved up!” She said the coordinator was going to see who should could move around to make room in Lex’s class for Eve.

We swam and played for awhile and on the way out I stopped to chat with the coordinator to offer her some flexibility in lesson times. Turns out she was already working on it. She had discussed with another kid and his mom about moving him up a level to make a spot for Eve. So, as it stands now, Eve and Lex will be in class together for the remaining 5 weeks. Yay!! I hope, hope, hope nothing changes when we get back next week. If she is back in the preschool class I think I’m going to ask for my money back and un-enroll her, but I hope it doesn’t come to that. They are once again very excited to be in class together :)

Floating Eve

Floating Eve. She later tried to do a somersault in this splash pool and hit her head on the bottom. I tried not to laugh.

Swimming away

They were together. So close. I tried to get a picture of them. It would have been adorable. Instead they said "No!" when the saw the camera and immediately swam away. Buggers!

Pictures from today

A morning hug. While they were hugging Lex said, “Mom, why don’t you take a picture of us.”  I JUMPED at that offer!  :)

A requested photo op

A requested photo op

Pumpkin

Have I mentioned lately that Eve is really getting into writing? I love it :) She requested a little help with the spelling, but we just make the sounds for each letter and then she writes them. Even Lex coaches/helps her this way. It's great. She's so smart!

disolving the structure -p1

I got tired of Lex's foam-noodle structure so today we stuck it in water and helped it disolve. The kids thought it was amazing.

disolving the structure -p2

It only took a few minutes to get from that to this.

disolving the structure -p3

Happy November!!! A wonderful month ;)

Halloween 2010 – Part 2

Halloween Day.  Finally :) But first, one more picture from last night.

Alan

Alan in his costume :)

This morning was nice and quiet. I didn’t get the paper read, but I did get to sleep until 8am! That’s a good trade, in my opinion! :) Then we hung out, played outside for awhile with the neighbors, had lunch and naps. Then off to the local mall for trick-or-treating. We met another family there. Superman is Lex’s friend from school. They are so cute together :)

Eve in a mask

This is just a cool picture, lighting wise. She is wearing a dinosaur mask that Lex got from the birthday party yesterday.

Chalk drawing

It's never too cold for sidewalk chalk!

Superheros

Superheros ready to fight crime and get candy. (I'm pretty sure Lex only put on his costume because his friend was waiting for him. Yay for friends!)

trick or treating at the mall

Trick-or-treating at the mall. They both said trick-or-treat and thank you :)

Scary hand

This bowl was great. The hand moved when you reached in for candy. Lex watched his friend get some candy, then Eve, then a few other kids, then Lex decided he didn't want any of that candy anyway :)

Two superheros

I tried over and over to get a good picture of the two of them, and this was all I got. Kind of a good picture. They look serious anyway!

Mommy and Eve

A witch and her black cat. Meow! (we are friendly, of course, not evil)

group shot

We tried to get a group shot. Right at the end we managed to get the four of them together, but only for the briefest of seconds. The lady bug is Superman's baby sister. They came over for a playdate last week and the kids all loved her. :)

Back to the house for awhile, had some dinner, then redressed for some chilly evening trick-or-treating. Mandy and Rachel and Grampy Don came along, while Alan stayed home scaring children who stopped at our house. This year we did our whole street AND a few houses on another street. A first for us! The kids were thrilled and lucky to have the Aunties along (Mandy and Rachel, can I call you the Aunties? :) ) When their gallon jugs got full and heavy from candy, Mandy and Rachel volunteered to carry them. It was a really fun night.

Eve and Mandy

Grrrr....

Eve

She cracks me up.

Kitty Eve

So many pictures of Eve, I know, but she is just so photogenic lately. Love that smile!

Outdoor kitty

Eve in her outdoor gear. Two layers and a headscarf. Still adorable.

Lex

He wanted nothing to do with the face mask, but I think the hat is cool too.

The loot

Once they filled up two gallons of candy we decided to head home.

Just a few pieces

Lex wanted to eat "just a few pieces" of candy before bed. I gave them about 20 minutes to gorge themselves and then rounded them up for a warm bath and bedtime.

Halloween 2010 – Part 1

I realize it isn’t even Halloween yet, but somehow this day of candy gorging seems to have turned into almost a week for us! Starting with Eve’s preschool costume parade on Thursday. Last night we went to a Halloween party at Alan’s office. Lex refused to dress up (reserving his costume for the ACTUAL Halloween event!), but Eve and I donned our gear for the party.

This kitty caught herself a spider.

This kitty caught herself a spider.

Me and Eve

I witch I had a spiderweb necklace! :)

Running the halls

Towards the end of the party Lex, Eve, and Mr. Incredible spent some time (ok, a lot of time!) running the halls and yelling, having a blast.

This morning we all enjoyed NOT rushing out of the house at 7am as we have done the past few days. Instead we had a leisurely morning and then made our way to the Fright River Flyer for a haunted train ride with Gammy and Popcube. It was chilly and very much NOT haunted, but we all had fun anyway.

Eve

Love that face, even though she didn't want me to take her picture. It's hard to resist!

Pumpkins

The train made a weird unexpected (to me) stop at a farm stand where the kids were all given mini pumpkins. I think it was more so the grownups would all buy coffee and cookies (we did).

Eve reading the flyer

She looks quite concerned while reading this train brochure. Perhaps because she can't read? Or maybe because the brocure is upside down?! :)

The train trip ended about an hour later than expected, which left us rushing home for a quick lunch and then off to a birthday party. Eve and Alan stayed home while Lex and I went to his friend’s birthday party. I was worried because he was so tired and barely ate lunch, but he had a BLAST! He cried only once, when I was told that parents can drop off their kids and leave. His eyes welled up and he asked me please, please not to leave him alone. So I stayed. Luckily I’m friends with the family so it was nice to stay and chat with them anyway.

Rope swing

The birthday boy on the rope swing. Can you find Lex?

Climbing the mat

It's hard to get good pictures in this place! Here he is at the top of the mountain, about to toss a beanbag into that "donut" behind the line of kids!

Cake time

When they were all done with gymnastics, Lex looked up at me in the balcony and yelled "Mom, it's time for cake!" Like he endured all that fun activity just to get cake :) Here he is now, enjoying his dinosaur cupcake.

After the party and Eve’s nap, we spent the rest of the evening coloring at the table. Lex said he needed some relaxing time :) They had a giant snack around 4:45 and skipped dinner.

reading

I LOVE when he reads to her! Even if they are reading a coloring book :)

Pumpkins

Eve wrote "pumpkin" on her little pumpkin. She is getting so good with her letters!

Tomorrow we will chill in the morning. I might even read the paper!! :) Then off to the mall (hehe… or what passes for a mall around here!) for trick-or-treating with the Johnson family and one of Lex’s classmates. Hello candy!

Priorities

I seriously need to make a grocery list and meal plans for the week, but the house is quiet and I’m going to blog instead. I’ll make the list later. Who needs sleep, right?!

As you may or may not know, I have been participating in a “Lose Big” program at a local gym. This week was the last week and while I did not actually lose big (I did lose a few pounds though, just not “big”!), it has been a lot of fun. The program consisted of twice weekly meetings, one being a lecture of sorts and the other being a circuit workout. In general I found the workouts to be much more useful than the lectures, but both were good. At the final lecture yesterday the trainer was reviewing what we had learned (or were supposed to have learned!) over the course of the six week program. At one point we were discussing obstacles and I raised my hand and said I have trouble balancing priorities. I know it’s important to take care of myself, but when that happens at the expense of too many other things, well then I loose focus. Not uncommon, I’m sure. The trainer mentioned that she also has two small kids (smaller than mine actually!) and fully understands, but “they know that if I don’t get to exercise every day then I am a cranky mommy!” That got me thinking… I want to exercise and lose weight so I can feel better about my body, but I’m finding that often when I DO exercise every day I become a cranky mommy. Why? Because exercise takes a lot of time. Time that otherwise would be spent cleaning the house, or being with the kids, or completing projects, or cooking, or grocery shopping, or or or… (or blogging, of course!)

I find that I ebb and flow in the “take care of me” department. I do prefer to weigh less, I do like to exercise, but after doing that for awhile I get frustrated with the messy house, cranky kids, and everything else that seems to slip through the cracks when I devote time to daily exercise. There just isn’t enough time in the day! So her comment made me think that perhaps exercise really ISN’T a priority in my life. Is that horrible to say?!?! I do need to exercise regularly, but perhaps not for so long and not every day. More importantly, I realized that I when I have a better handle on life I feel much, MUCH better, regardless of exercise. I also believe that when I am more in control of my surroundings I am better able to manage my food intake and therefore feel better all around… which often leads to more time to exercise. :) When my surroundings feel out of control then my eating quickly follows, which is counter-intuitive because often I think my eating is the one thing I SHOULD be able to control, but alas it spirals out of control along with everything else. Control issues, maybe… but that’s for another post!

It’s interesting thinking about, and trying to truly own, your priorities in life.