A silly first

Eve’s first drink from a tin can… that I know of! She was a little unsure about the whole thing. After the first sip she tried to stick her tongue in the can! Eek! Luckily it didn’t get stuck or cut.

Eve

This was from a few days ago but I was having photo uploading issues, so here it is now :)

So much to do

We live in an awesome area!  There is always so much to do.  Outings, events, shows, museums, hikes, etc.  So much to do that it’s impossible to be bored.  It’s also impossible to do it all, especially with kids who need down time (ok, moms too!)  Today was the usual Saturday farmer’s market, touch-a-truck, the Co-op producers fair, plus our town’s 250 celebration, plus all the normal stuff today… and that’s just what I know of.  I made a point NOT to look at the events listings or transaction ads in today’s paper because I didn’t want to find more things to do.

We started the day with a trip to the farmer’s market.  Lex has been talking about farmer’s markets all week and really wanted to go.  This year there is a TON of baked good, in addition to the usual produce.  Last year it was all produce plus one bakery… this year it’s about half and half.  They also have entertainment each week and today was (unbeknownst to us) a singer who we saw perform last year. Eve loved him and he sang a song about her last year (I thought I blogged about that, but I can’t find it now) so she was thrilled that he was back again. The kids got muffins, I got grape tomatoes and we had our morning snack there.  I also got some beautiful multi-color carrots and sweet corn.  I think we’ll have both for dinner tonight. Yum!

Farmer's market- August 2011

After that we went to the annual touch-a-truck event (2010, 2009).  Always a crowd pleaser. When we go we see so many friends from the past. People we’ve lost touch with, grown apart from, went to school with, etc. And neighbors and close friends too. It’s amazing how excited kids get about trucks. They climb on them, get dirty, honk the horns (incessantly!) and have a blast. I think the parents like it because it’s free :)

Touch a truck - August 2011

We were thinking about having lunch out, but it was nearly 12:30 when we left and Eve was a DISASTER! Fighting and fussing and crying. We got home, had some lunch, then I insisted on a nap today. I’ll probably be regretting it at 10pm tonight, but at least our afternoon will be nicer. I’m a little bummed we didn’t make it to the 250 event because I love the idea of support our town’s efforts, but with all the things to do in the area you have to make decisions! And with two young kids you can only do so much. This afternoon I suspect will be spent ton the floor, playing with trains.

Photos from the week.

I really want to write a long, beautiful blog post about our adventures this week but I’m so darn tired.  It’s 9:40 and I have two load of laundry at my feet waiting to be folded, and a full day tomorrow with no time for anything.  I should turn off this computer and get cracking (or sleeping) but I’m going to take a few more minutes and put up some pictures from the week. It has been a busy, but fun one.

Five lines

It took her an hour and a half, but she wrote those five lines this morning!

Writing lines

Writing lines...

Her reward… homemade blueberry pie!

pie

... and eating pie! Not bad for 9am on a Wednesday morning.

 

lex

Lex got some too, of course. Unforunately he didn't finish his piece so I had to help. Really. I HAD to. It was delicious!

Videos from today

This morning Eve took a pretend nap and Lex sang her to sleep. It was so cute, but when I turned on the camera Lex lost interest. I should have stayed out of their game. Oh well.

After dinner tonight Alan had a very silly conversation with the kids. He told them that he was a weirdo, and I married him so I must be a kook, and we had them, so that makes them loonybins. They laughed like loonybins!

Writing lines

The kids have been driving me crazy lately with their “potty talk.” Mostly lots of poop and farts and other childish words thrown in to every single sentence. It was driving me crazy. I tried lots of things from asking them a million times to stop (yeah, like that works!) to asking them to go to the bathroom (“Oh mom, I won’t say it again so I’ll just stay here.”) to yelling and carrying them to their room (fun for all), but nothing was working.

Then my genius mind decided to kick it old school. Last summer a friend was telling me that she has her 8yr old daughter write lines whenever she gets sassy. Sassiness is a tough thing to discipline. I thought it was quaint at the time, but upon further consideration it made lots of sense. It was a consequence that didn’t involve me yelling, they get to practice their writing skills, maybe they would even chill on the potty talk.

I introduced the idea at dinner one night, two weeks ago. I would tape a piece of paper to the fridge and each time I heard them say something I would make a tally mark. Each morning they’d have to write the number of lines corresponding to their tally marks from the day before. Lex almost cried just thinking about it! After dinner the kids were in the living room cleaning up and someone said something and they both came running in to tattle. I told them it only counts when Alan and I hear it. They insisted on putting one line under each name. Um, ok.

The next morning they both wrote one line and went about their day. With no more potty words! It seemed to good to be true!! Sort of it was. Over the past few days Lex has had to write lines twice and neither time was much fun. Last Tuesday was a big fight (a good show for Lauren!) and this morning was a little fight. Eve also had a line to write this morning, but she did it happily. Tomorrow she has five to write! That’s the most either of them have ever had. We’ll see how that goes.

The second night we were doing this new plan I thanked them both for toning down the potty talk, but I said I was a little bummed because I was hoping they would both gets lots of handwriting practice! Lex said he could write other things instead of his lines :)

Day two he decided to make them as messy as possible. I said ok to the first one but told him the next line had to be neater. Each day he threatens all sorts of cute threats, such as “I’ll throw this in the recycling bin if you make me write more!” :)

lines 1

Lex on top, Eve on bottom.

Eve puts dark lines between her words and likes to make her “o” as filled in circles. If you don’t watch her carefully she starts to doodle all over the page :) Not bad for a four year old though! When she wrote the final R in “words” she narrated to herself, “first a bump, then a line, then a kick!”

lines 2

Today's lines. Much neater.

Happy August!

It’s August already!  Can you believe it?!  I still haven’t even started using my fancy summer schedule.  Oh well.  I like to think I’m an organized, scheduled person… but you all know the truth.  I get the occasional help with chores they like (bathrooms and changing sheets, go figure!) but mostly they just play and I do my thing and life goes on.   Fast!  Have you heard it’s August already?  We have been able to check off several things from our summer to-do list (go camping, play at the lake, ride a train, and more), but there is still much more to do (like visit the Atlantic Ocean!).

Alan started his new job today. He said it went well. He came home exhausted and went to bed with the kids :) Like the first day of school. I’m sure we’ll hear more about that as he settles in.

I don’t really have much to say right now but I wanted to just check in. I know some of you go through withdrawal when I don’t post for awhile :) You know who you are.

I don’t even have any good pictures. Seriously. We haven’t been doing much of anything. Today’s highlight was grocery shopping. Tomorrow we are going to try and go blueberry picking again. We went last week but the picking was slim so tomorrow we’ll try a new place that just opened for the season. Not new, just different, it’s where we used to go when the kids were smaller. I wanted to go today but grocery shopping took priority. Real food was necessary. I still haven’t had a chance to make blueberry jam yet. Each time we pick berries we eat them all before I get to it. That will change tomorrow! I hope.

Here are a few photos to round out this compelling blog post. Enjoy.

battery powered trains

Lex set up a charging station for his trains, complete with batteries and all. He's his father's boy, through and through!

 

math

Learning math skills together. Check out www.khanacademy.org. It's pretty amazing.

 

at the store

"Look Mom! Do you want to take a picture of us?"
You know I do little boy, you know I do.

Seriously. The grocery store. Aren’t you glad you read to the end of this post?!

(seriously though we are totally enjoying our laid-back days. the other day we rode bikes in the morning, played outside with the neighbors in the afternoon, then went out to dinner at a diner. at bedtime Lex told me the day was too busy and the next day should be quieter. it was.)

Closed

bucket

No blueberries for us tonight :(

We made a bummer discovery this afternoon when we tried to go blueberry picking. Our favorite place, right near by, is closed! They had a sign up that said “New Owners. No more PYO” We were sad. It was 4:45 and a little late to drive to any other place so we just stopped at the playground on the way home instead. Not quite the same, but it was something outdoors and active. Tomorrow morning, bright and early, we’re heading to a blueberry patch. I have blueberries on the brain!

Lex was mostly disappointed because he wanted to take pictures at the blueberry patch. He brought the KidCam along and took pictures the whole way there. At one point he even asked me to slow down because all of his out the window pictures were blurry. After I explained why that is he decided to just take pictures inside the car while we were driving.

Once he got over the blueberry disappointment he decided to make the best of it and take pictures at the playground instead. He’s becoming quite the photographer! He took TONS at the camp site this week. I’m going to have him write his own blog post soon and put up his pictures. Most are dark and/or blurry because of the low quality kidcam, but some came out pretty good. I haven’t looked at today’s batch.

Here are MY pictures from today anyway :) Maybe you’ll see his soon.

shutterbug

Little shutterbug

 

classic

Classic

 

eve

Eve was feeling brave this afternoon.

Camping

We had another first this week. Camping! Well, a first for the kids of course, not for me. I went camping all the time as a kid, with a camper, and parents who took care of all the packing and logistics! Fortunately this time I went with my friend Elizabeth who camps regularly and took care of most of the packing and logistics :) I brought food and kid entertainment, two things I’m pretty good at.

We decided to stay a little close to home (only 40min away) and start with just one night. If everyone had fun we figured we could try a two-night trip next time. My friend Lauren and her lovely Bella came up for a few days and came camping with us too. Alan thought we were all crazy to pass up comfortable beds and electricity and he opted to stay home. He also had to work both days, of course.

reading with lauren

Reading "Amelia Bedelia Goes Camping" with Lauren.

 

tent

Lauren set up her tent in the living room, to try it out. The kids moved right in :)

We arrived Tuesday afternoon in the midst of a giant rainstorm. It wasn’t raining at my house when we left, but we apparently drove right into the center of the storm. The kids and I sat in the car for half hour, Lauren and Bella in her car, and we waited for Elizabeth and/or the rain to stop. When she got there the grownups pow-wowed in the rain (I REALLY need to invest in a raincoat!) and decided to go back to her house instead. I buckled the kids back up and we drove way. Moments later, in the parking lot, we were met with blue skies and sunshine! Another quick pow-wow and we decided to turn around and try to get the tents up. Elizabeth has a mansion of a tent and a canopy to put over the picnic table, so we would be dry enough.  We got the tents up and the cars unloaded before the rain began again. Elizabeth somehow managed to get a fire started in the rain while Lauren cooked dinner on the portable stove (I tell you, she has everything!) and I corralled the wild ones in the tent for stories.

at the site

At the camp site, the kids passing around bug bottles to begin their first mission.

 

canopy

Lauren and Eve setting up the canopy for the picnic table.

 

food tent

Lex was fascinated by the portable kitchen Elizabeth has. The box he's looking at here had spices and oils and dishes and tea and lots of other useful things.

The rain let up a bit, the kids ate PB&J under the canopy, Alistair got sick and went to bed (poor boy!) and my kids were DYING to make s’mores! I tried to get them to wait until the rain stopped, but as I could make no promises that it even would stop, I eventually relented and we made the world’s worst s’mores, in the pouring rain. Imagine the three of us, no rain coats, huddling around a fire. Two eager kids, long curved sticks, giant marshmallows swinging wildly around. The whole process was so hurried and chaotic that they ended up with barely warm on the inside, somewhat burnt on the outside marshmallows, chocolate that didn’t melt, barely fitting within the graham cracker confines. The kids were happy but I was a little embarrassed that that was their first introduction to s’mores. Oh well, there’s always next time. :)

eve

Biiiiggg bite! We had some really big marshmallows!

 

lex

I was surprised that Lex almost finished his.

I just remembered that they had s’mores once before, at Parrish’s house last summer.

Eventually the rain did go away. Lex had a blast exploring the woods around us. We had nice boundaries (a creek and a road) so the kids could wander safely. He took tons of pictures, they both did their scavenger hunts that we made. We walked around the whole campsite a bit, made a few trips to the bathrooms, and suddenly it was nearing dark. I got the kids in pjs and washed up and then we laid on a blanked under the stars (and occasional rain drips from the trees) and read stories by the gentle glow of their glow sticks. Blue, pink, yellow shining down on the book.

I got the kids tucked in, laid with them for a few minutes, then left them to talk quietly with each other (threating all sorts of things if they were too loud and woke up Alistair!) and I joined the ladies by the fire. We worked on s’mores (for them) and wine (for me) and chatted late into the night. That was my favorite part :) Then I crawled into bed to catch a few winks, interrupted once when Eve crawled in with me and once again when Lex joined the party.

We woke up at 5:30 and cuddled for a bit, listening to the rain drips on the tent. It wasn’t really raining, much, mostly just drips from the trees above. We had oatmeal for breakfast and tried to keep the kids quiet until a reasonable hour. We walked down to the lake and beach area, played on the playground, watched Bella swim, and played in the sand. By that point it was about 8:30 in the morning. Seriously.

at the dock

At the dock, checking out the boats.

 

bella

Bella swimming. She is a super sweet dog. It was fun to have her camping with us.

 

lex

Lex made himself comfy to watch Bella in the water.

 

eve

This girl loves the sand.

 

at the beach

Playing at the beach. It was starting to warm up and the sunshine felt good on our damp selves.

 

rock climbing

We discovered a cluster of big rocks which just called to the kids.
"Climb us, climb us...."

 

king of the mountain

He's king of the mountain!

 

boys

The boys

 

silly kids

Silly kids!

The plan was to pack up the campsite and check out by 11am, then head to the beach for lunch and swimming. However, my kids were exhausted and totally disobedient, and I was exhausted, and Alistair was feeling sick again, so we decided it would be best to just pack up and get going. The sun was shining now, of course. A beautiful day. We packed up, did some more exploring, climbed some giant rocks, checked off a few more scavenger hunt items, and piled into the car at 11am. I was expecting the kids to fuss about not getting to go to the beach. In fact, I was hoping they would fuss so they would make the connection between poor behavior and getting a consequence, but alas, they were tired and I think they were happy to be leaving.

We made it home. Lauren, Lex, and I had lunch while Eve crawled upstairs for quiet time and fell asleep on the floor. Lex had quiet time and Lauren and I got more time to chat before she had to leave. We said goodbye to her and Bella, then settled in for a slow afternoon. Around 4pm I found Lex just dozing on the couch. I woke him up :) You can’t fall asleep at 4pm! I tried to engage him in something, but eventually only managed to get him upstairs for a shower. We had dinner and everyone passed out pretty early, in a dry house and comfy beds :)

The kids both want to go camping again, so… that may be in our future… on a sunnier day!

This makes me so happy I decided to link up to this week’s
Happiness Is… blog hop over on Rub Some Dirt On It :)

Photobucket