Evening hair brushing

Alan got home early today so I went out to a WW meeting and a quick trip to JCPenney’s (new jeans!).  He gave them dinner and did bath time tonight.  It was a nice family evening.  After the kids were out of the tub he asked Eve if he could brush her hair.  Surprisingly she said yes!  Normally she prefers it messy.  At the same time Lex was feeling cuddly.  I walked in to find this, and immediately went for the camera :)

smiley family

Aren't they cute! (actually, the original scene involved a naked Eve, but she put on the diaper so we could take a blog-worthy photo)

brushing daddy's hair

I think she loves her daddy :)

Fun at the science museum

We have been going to the science museum a lot lately. The kids have a renewed interest, I think. I had a weird feeling the last time we went when I realized that my kids are almost too big for the “kid” section. There is an area sectioned off for ages 5 and under, which technically my kids still qualify for, but realistically they run around and bump into the babies and generally are just too big for that area. Sad.

Here they are playing with the science exhibits.

lex

I forget what this thing is called but when you spin it around and look through the slots on the outside, you see a "movie" of your drawings. I made the little stick figure drawings (I'm an AWESOME artist!) and Lex loved watching it spin. Eve drew some pictures as well, but she didn't fully get the idea.

elevator

Watching out the elevator window never gets old!

Shopping

I went shopping today. Alone. To stores other than the grocery store. It was exciting. However, it was also mayhem! We haven’t even made it to December yet and people are out in force! Of course it was Saturday afternoon, which isn’t really the best time for shopping, unless you are trying to buy little treats for little kids and want to go to the toy store and the candy store without said kids underfoot. Then Saturday is the best time to go while daddy plays at home with kiddies. Anyway, it was fun. I went to a bunch of stores and bought little things for the advent calendar I’m making for them. Now I’m going to turn of this computer and put Alan to work helping me put the project together :) Family fun!

DoodlePro

Lex drew a fun picture on the DoodlePro last week and has insisted it stay there. For the past few days Eve has been wanting to erase it and draw something else, but each time she mentions Lex freaks out. Yesterday he was in tears because he thought she erased it. I told him he could leave it for one more day, but reminded him that the DoodlePro is not for permanent artwork. This morning Eve asked again about erasing it and Lex said, “Just let me copy it onto paper first!” A reasonable request, I think. I expected him to just redraw the picture, but instead he got a big piece of paper and traced the DoodlePro! Then he drew the picture within that. So clever! :)

At work

Lex at work, copying from the DoodlePro to paper.

All done

All done. The writing is a little hard to read on the paper because he used a light colored pencil, but it's all there.

When he finished he happily handed the DoodleProp to Eve and let her erase the picture.

Roar!

Eve found this old lion costume in the dress up box and wore it for awhile yesterday and then all morning today. She is so cute in it!

Lion Eve with kitty

Lion Eve with kitty

roar

ROAR!

lion on a horsey

A lion on a horsey?

getting away

He's getting away, but little lion is holding on tight!

down

The little lion took him down! :)

Remember when we got the costume last year?

Snowman pizza

Fun mommy came to dinner last night…

Snowman pizza - before cooking

Snowman pizza - before cooking

Snowman pizza - after cooking

Snowman pizza - after cooking

We saw this idea in a Highlights magazine and when Eve asked for pizza for dinner I thought it would be a fun treat. Both kids enjoyed looking at it, but only Eve was brave enough to eat it. It was delicious. Silly Lex ate carrots and peppers while Eve and I dug into the pizza.

Parent teacher conference

We had our first Kindergarten parent teacher conference this morning. It was nice to chat with his teacher. No surprises, of course. We asked about the reading testing they did awhile ago and she said that “he can word read anything you give him” but apparently his comprehension isn’t quite as advanced. I think she said they tested around a 2nd grade level and he could read it, but needed work on the comprehension. We also talked a bit about how it’s hard to tell with him sometimes because he often just doesn’t want to answer questions and it’s hard to tell if he doesn’t know or just doesn’t want to talk. Or maybe some of both.

Overall she said he is a great kid to have in class. Of course!

We had an interesting interaction in the hallway as we were rushing to the meeting, late of course. There is a counselor who teaches Second Step to the kids. She probably does other stuff as well, but Lex calls her the Second Step Teacher. Second Step is a program that teaches kids social and emotional skills to help them succeed at school. She said good morning to Lex in the hallway and he looked away. It was early and he was feeling nervous about the parent teacher conference (more importantly about whether he wanted to sit in the hallway or play outside with some other students). She paused and said it again, he looked away again. Then she got down right at his level and made eye contact and tried to prompt him on the right way to reply. He kept looking at me and his eyes started to well up. Silly boy. She made me laugh when she said “Ok, let’s try this again,” and she stood up, whirled around, looked at him again and said good morning. He smiled and gave her a little wave. She said, “Ok, I guess we’ll keep working on that one!” It was nice to see that people are working with him on his eye contact aversions and nice to see that she was so nice about it. I think on a different day he would have been much more receptive to her. Anyway, overall it was a nice morning at school :)

Tupperware

I’m feeling very 1950’s to say this, but I’m hosting a Tupperware party on December 1st! (I wonder when Tupperware parties started… 50s? Or 1970s? I’ll have to look that up some time). My friend and I were joking about hosting a Tupperware party last summer. Her friend recently became a consultant so I agreed to host a party to help her get started. I like holiday parties. Mark your calendars – December 1st @ 7:00pm! I’m sure everyone who reads this blog got an invite, but if there are any lurkers out there let me know and I’ll invite you too!! Or check out the catalog online, but don’t order online or it won’t count towards my party. Come to the party or email me if you want to order! :) Now… what to bake…? :)

Soup or lettuce?

“What should I have for lunch today,” I wondered aloud this afternoon. Eve replied with, “You can have whatever you choose. Your choices are soup… or lettuce…. That’s it, those are your choices.” I had a good hearty laugh for lunch! Apparently she’s on to my weight watching ways. :)