The kids took a special Foam Weapons Sparring class last weekend. They had a blast. Alan took them and I made him swear he’d take a few pictures for me. :) He did. His phone also makes cool videos automatically from the pictures, so here are a few pics and a video montage his phone made. Apparently they learned about the weapons and how to use them, then play “Ninja versus Samurai” where the samurais had to defend the castle (blue foam mats) and the ninjas had to attack and try to sneak in (space between the mats). They had a blast. I kind of wish I was there, but instead I was home doing homework. That was good too… in a different way.
Category Archives: Uncategorized
I have a few minutes…
Eve asked for ten more minutes before bedtime and since we had a really good start to our evening I decided to give it to her. So now I have a few minutes of time. I could go wash the dishes or sweep the floor, but instead I’ll ramble here for a bit. I haven’t checked the camera lately so I’ll have to rely on my memory!
Top on my mind is the job hunting process. One of my least favorite things ever. I’ve been fairly spoiled in the past and gotten many jobs quite quickly. I’m hoping the same applies here. I applied for two jobs already and didn’t get selected for an interview on either. One was a total long-shot though, so I’m not too disappointed. I just applied for another one today and I hear another is coming up soon. Either of these would be awesome to get. I really just want to get hired and be done, then I can focus on my school work again and start planning for the next step. I’m not a very patient person, you know. For now I’ll continue to tweak my cover letter and write my application essays and thank my mother daily for her advice and editing support. :)
The weather is starting to warm up and that makes me immensely happy. Any day that I don’t need a jacket and gloves, or sunscreen, is a good day! (Yes, I know I should be wearing sunscreen every day and blocking all those wonderful rays, but really that just will never happen.) The kids got out their bikes and scooters this weekend. Eve even tried riding her bike again. I’m hoping this is the year she’s back at it and we can take those family bike rides we were hoping for last summer. Unfortunately she is a very nervous rider and fell, scraping up her cold, bare knee. Not bad, but enough to make her even more hesitant to ride. Sigh. Lex, on the other hand, was flying! I think we are going to invest in new bikes this summer. Bikes that fit them properly and aren’t covered in rust and duct tape. When I mentioned it to the kids they both seemed uncertain of the idea. “But I like my red one,” said Lex about his too-small bike, and Eve asked why she couldn’t just ride her pink one, the one we got for free that’s covered in rust but has a basket on the front. I thought to myself, “Shiny new bikes, kids, why are you not salivating at this idea?!?!?!” but instead just said, “Ok, we’ll see.”
The kids’ school is doing a Artist in Residence program where they have a local famous artist come do a big project with a select group of kids. The project is going to be a big mural for the school and Lex is one of the selected kids. He’s pretty happy about it. The just got started last week but I’m eager to hear the details as they go along. They sent home a really nice letter listing the criteria for selection, which included creative, motivated, team player, etc. All nice things to hear about your kid.
That’s all for now. If you need to read a little more check out the adorable birthday party little Kate had this weekend. Wish we were there. :)
Off to put my own little birthday girl to bed. G’night all.
A new toy!
Happy Birthday Eve!!
Birthday season is upon us again and suddenly baby Eve is a big seven year old!
While most kids are chomping at the bit to be older, Eve carefully reminded us throughout her birthday weekend that she was not seven yet. Even this morning when we were having a little 6:00am celebration, she said, “Well, really I’m not seven yet!” Last night she tried to convince me that you don’t turn the new age until the very end of the day, overnight while you’re asleep the night after your birthday, I think maybe she liked being six. :)
We had a very fun, very busy weekend. On Saturday she had a bunch of friends over for a penguin party. The weather cooperated and we were able to get outside and play after cake. A good time was had by all.

We had a lovely spread. Penguin cake in the middle, veggies on one side, Goldfish and candy on the other, and blue Jello “water” in the middle. I bet you can guess where the kiddos spent most of their snacking time!

This year, on a whim, I ordered a cake from an awesome lady. I’ve known her since high school and she now does cakes professionally. It turned out beautiful (and delicious)!

The kids started the party by making penguin picture frames. Then I took pictures of each of them with Eve, printed them, and put them in the frames.

The boys finished the rolled-up-newspaper-igloo project that I started with the kids a few days ago and ran out of time to finish.

Here’s the completed igloo. We were going to put welcome signs on them (this one and the table one on the other side of the room) but we ran out of time for that too.

My friend wanted to take a picture of me and Alan. She thought Eve shouldn’t be the only one celebrating today. :) (It’s not a very flattering angle, but I’ll post it anyway.)
Since all the kids were playing in the basement we brought the presents down to open there. I don’t have any great pics though, so you’ll just have to use your imagination. :)

This is me cracking up because Eve blew out the candles before we even finished the first word of the Happy Birthday song. I relit them quickly while we finished singing. :)

Just for fun (and to terrify a room full of small children), Alan jumped in with the sawzall running on high when it was time to cut the cake. Grandpa Tom got a video of it that I’ll try to post. It was hysterical and a little scary.

Eve was really happy that the snow stuck around for her birthday this year. She really wanted to play penguins with her friends.
After we said goodbye to all our friends the kids took to their corners for a wee bit of downtime. An hour later we packed up and headed to Grandpa’s for a pizza dinner and round two of cake!
We got home late and went right to bed. Everyone was beat! Sunday was spent relaxing with family and trying to restore some sense of order to the house. I also spent Sunday baking and decorating cupcakes (more cake!) for school on Monday.

For her actual birthday I left two small presents that were beautifully surrounded by flowers from others. She is a lucky little girl.

One more round of cake. These cuties went to school today. They should each have a penguin on top, but I quickly discovered that the toothpicks don’t fit in the cupcake carrier, so I put a few in for pictures, then took them out and put them all into a baggie. Eve put the penguins on top at school before serving them. We also made a few mini cupcakes and brought them to karate this afternoon.
This afternoon we went to karate and then out to dinner at Panera Bread. Eve’s choice. No surprise there! :) I think she had a pretty awesome 7th birthday weekend. Now let the post-party lull and sugar detox begin!
A winter safari
The kids spent the morning packing for a safari. I’m not sure what prompted the idea, but they were quite busy and diligent at it for a long time. They had a book that had come with Lex’s safari vest and they were following the guidelines in it. They even packed emergency medical supplies (bandaids and neosporin), batteries, a map of the neigbhorhood, and snacks. They decided to look for birds and rocks, so they packed the binoculars and containers of various sizes to collect rocks.
When they were all packed up they decided that spring weather was too far away and the safari should take place today! Fortunately it really was spring weather around here and the day was sunny and nearly 40°. They asked for permission to explore the neighborhood and we agreed together on the areas they could explore on their own. I offered to go with them (please, pretty please) but they said they were fine on their own.
Once I got past the humor and cuteness of it all, and once they had actually left, I was a nervous wreck! They started next door to invite Parrish along, then went to the cul-de-sac behind the house to invite a few other friends. They ended up as a party of five on safari. I told them they could explore our cul-de-sac or the one right behind our house (that I can see from the kitchen window!) and they had to stay on the road, no woods. Boring mommy, I know. The snowbanks were so high that I could see the tops of their heads when they were walking but as soon as they sat down I lost them.
I also forgot to tell them another safety rule and was nervous about that too. They went to invite one friend and ended up going in for a few minutes while she got her snow clothes on. I’ve met this girl only once or twice and her grandparents as often. I knew the kids were there because I saw them go down the driveway, but then I lost them behind the snowbank and didn’t know if they went in or not. I was kicking myself for forgetting to tell them that rule!
All went just fine, of course, and everyone had fun. The kids anyway. I spent the entire time puttering around the kitchen and looking out the window. Good thing there were plenty of kitchen chores to be done. Somehow I was raised by laid-back hippies and ended up a total nervous wreck! This is the first time they’ve gone exploring on their own, so maybe the nerves were somewhat justified. I also barely know two of the houses they went to, not like they were our best friends or trusted neighbors.
Anyway, all is good and the kids loved it! I’m ready for warm weather so I can open the windows and see without snowbanks blocking the view. I’ll be much more relaxed then! :)
He said, she said
Lex just said to Eve, “You don’t like peas? I’ll eat them for you!”. Maybe there is hope for him after all. :-)
I, on the other hand, just said, “There’s not much in your Friday folder this week.” To which he replied, “Mom, it’s Thursday.” Sigh.
Reading
This evening we decided that not only does Lex love to read, but he can’t even resist the sweet lure of words on paper. In the car on the way home this evening he suddenly said, “Uh, why am I reading the manual for my car seat?!” His eyes had fallen on it and suddenly he couldn’t stop himself from reading. It’s a tough problem to have. :)
Let’s Take a Ride in an Electric Car
So, I picked up a Nissan Leaf on Monday. If you are like me, and 90%+ of your trips are less than 80mi, If you have a second car for trips over 80mi, go get one now. Nissan Dealers have end of quarter numbers they have to meet to get a big bonus which usually puts them in the black, and the lease deals are sick right now. Even Consumer Reports recommends the lease on these which is nearly unheard of.
I got the Leaf S, which is the lowest trim level. I was surprised it did not include cruise control, but not a big deal for my use of car that does <80mi on a round trip anyway. There are a few other things in the SV and SL models I’d like to have, but nothing worth the extra money to me. Overall, the S is a super nice car with plenty of niceties; certainly it has everything I really need. If you are interested, feel free to give me a call and I can break down the options for you and probably answer most of your questions. =) I have been studying these for years and watching the lease deal for months, waiting to get enough equity in my Prius, and just the right timing. It all finally came together!
[Start boring details.]
If you are interested, find some where with some 2013 still in stock and they are very likely to make you a great deal. I traded in my 2005 Prius for a Leaf S with the same monthly payment ($226/mo). With less than $2000 in equity (trade value minus amount remaining on the loan) on the Prius, I paid absolutely $0 to the dealer up front and they cut me a check for over $1000 to cover the VT taxes. All I had to cover is a registration fee of about $41. After 35 payments (that’s right, they even covered the first payment), I can buy it out for about $12.5k, trade it in for something at the dealer, or pay $395 to walk away assuming no significant damages beyond normal ware and tear. Miles over 36k is only cost $0.15 but I don’t expect to do more than 24kmi in 3 years. (They have a 45kmi option if you need it.) All that on a car that has an MSRP of almost $30k.
This totally cash-flow positive for me. Same-payment, only I get to skip one. The electricity to run it should be less than 3/4 the cost to gas a 45mpg Prius at today’s prices (we will be lucky if it only doubles in the next 5 years) and maintenance is practically nothing: rotate the tires every 7500mi (which I do myself) and get the battery checked once a year. Full manufacturer warranty on everything else for the life of the lease, and then some on most of it. Sure beats the expect maintenance on a Prius (which is very low relatively), not to mention the unexpected issues of a car over 8 years old (again, relatively low on a Prius, but still.)
You could pay up to $2000 to have a charger installed at home, but it can be done cheaper. Maybe more to come on that some day, but for now, the 110v cable that comes with it is sufficient for my needs since I’m just topping off each day for the most part and the land lord at my office said it was OK to plug in there as needed too. I do want to get something dedicated at the house though since it is becoming tedious to pull out the cable every time I get home, and then pack it up again when I leave. It will be much nicer to have something I can just leave behind and keep the cable that came with it in the car for occasional charging at work, etc.
[End boring details.]
Tessa finally had a chance to drive it Saturday and is pleased with it. The basic function is pretty much the same as the Prius, so there is no learning curve to just get in it and go. Of course, the kids love it! Lex says, “Yeah, a brand new Nissan Leaf? I sure would like to set the clock in that thing.”
In conclusion, As the song the kids want to hear every time we get in it says (and yes I count myself among the “kids” in that statement), happiness resides in an electric car. =)
March Snow
Dear March,
You have done an excellent job coming in as a lion. Thank you for the wonderful snowstorm. You gave us a day of dense, packable snow that we used to make snow balls, snowmen, snow penguins, and snow bunnies.
Then you gave us a day with light fluffy snow that made the world look beautiful. You gave us over two feet of snow that provided me with an excellent workout each day, especially shoveling Wednesday’s heavy snow and then walking through very deep snow to dig out my heat intake thing. I learned, fortunately not the hard way, that it’s important to keep that thing clear.

Eve brought Bitty Baby out to play. I’m such a mom (or dork) that I had to stop and put her hood up and fix her jacket.

Lex is getting pretty good at helping with the shoveling. He doesn’t love it, but he does it. Sometimes Eve helps too. Today they worked hard to get the end of the driveway clear.

Our propane tanks are buried in that mountain. I figured it would be good to dig them out as well. I got the tops cleared off and found we had plenty of propane so I stopped. It was COLD today!
The district canceled school for two days, which wasn’t the best timing since this was my first solo week in kindergarten, but we’re all taking advantage of the break. Tuesday was a tough day at school and I was ready to lay low Wednesday. The kids both have colds and we were facing a very hectic week, so your lovely snow provided a forced slow down. They are both feeling much better this afternoon.
Now that we’ve had this storm, your final hurrah, could you please show us the lamb. Just last week I taught my kids the saying, “March comes in like a lion and out like a lamb,” and as much as we’ve all enjoyed the lion, we are ready for a little lamb.
Sincerely,
Tessa, ready for some sunshine.
Do you think March reads my blog?
The Daddy Unit is Proud
Spoiler alert: if you have not seen Star Trek: The Motion Picture, what’s wrong with you? No, I mean, this will ruin the ending for you if you keep reading. So, correct yourself by going and watching it now. It is not the greatest movie by any stretch, and not the best of the ST movies by far, but it gets better as it goes and has a great ending… if you are a space geek. Plus, it is fun to MST3K some of the effects and excessively long fly-by sequences. Of course, it helps if you are a fan of the original series. That said, if you are still reading, you do so at your own risk. So, Lex and I cuddled up on the couch and watched it Saturday night, and when the big reveal of V’Ger comes at the end, he nailed it! I whispered, “There it is! Do you recognize it?” “I don’t think so,” he said. “You’ve seen it before,” I assured him quietly. After many seconds of silence, but well before they showed the tarnished label, he said, “maybe they are just mispronouncing Voyager.” My bursting geek pride almost launched him across the room! All the pains of parenting are worth it for moments like this. Of course, you have to be a space geek to appreciate this particular moment, but both of us are, so such things work out well. =)







































