This is what uncles are for!
Christmas morning…
Fun with the new presents…
(She decided to sing about baby Jesus, so she’s changing the word “sunshine” to “baby”)
This is what uncles are for!
Christmas morning…
Fun with the new presents…
Today was a beautiful, sunny winter day. Tons of snow, high temps (mid 20’s anyway!) and perfect. Guess what we did?! Went swimming, of course! The kids were bouncing off the walls and we have a new pool membership, so away we went! It was great. I am constantly amazed at the progress Lex and Eve are making in the pool. It seems like they somehow had a burst between last time and this time as well. When we first got there they were both jumping off the edge at the same time (despite my protest) and swimming everywhere! I thought for sure someone would be drowning today, but they were awesome little swimmers. Suddenly Eve has noticeable form and Lex is getting braver by the day. In the current pool, where he used to cling to me for dear life, he is now asking me to let go of him for short bursts. It’s great! I had a glimpse of what the future might hold… them swimming along and not even needing me! Sigh. Then at the end Eve swallowed a ton of water and threw up and Lex announced he was too tired and needed to go home. They still need me, for now :) Seriously though, they are amazing in the water. I wish I could take pictures or videos, but my camera is far from water proof!
Alan worked hard and got the pictures off the camera! Yay! He even set up a script so I can do it myself in the future. Good thing I have a live-in tech support!
Here is a sampling of the pictures from the camera. Many were just all black (hand over lens?) or all white (flash?) and many of the rest are completely blurry. They’ll have to practice their photography skills a bit longer. :)
We got our first real snow fall of the season! I think it’s about 18″ (though I didn’t really measure). We went to bed with nothing and woke to a winter wonderland. Awesome! After breakfast we all bundled up and headed out for shoveling, digging, sledding (attempts anyway) and general merriment.

Our mailbox, a casualty of the overnight snow plow. (That darn spot won't go away. The camera is no longer under warranty so I guess the spot will be there until I suck it up and buy a new camera :/ )

Lex unburied the mailbox. Later in the day the mail lady put our mail in it, while it was laying on the ground. I was happy just to get mail! :)

The kids watching me talk to the snow plow guy. He stopped on his way past when he saw we were outside. He apologized and said he would come by tomorrow and fix the mail box. He also said we weren't the only ones :) It was a dark and stormy night. Poor guy!

Eve got cold so I bundled her up a little more. Lex opted for a scarf shortly after. I like the look :)

The kids wanted to sled, but 18+ inches of powdery snow is just too deep, as Parrish quickly discovered!

Eve looks so adorable in her new sweatshirt. I wanted to take a picture, but she wanted to cuddle in Alan's lap in peace. She looks like such a baby here, until you realize that there's another whole half of her in legs not in the picture!
Eve and I went back out for a second round of shoveling in the afternoon. The snow had finally stopped coming down and most of the snow on the garage roof had slid off, so the driveway had a good covering again. No pictures that time though because it was getting dark and cold and I was in a hurry!
I think Eve really likes the new camera. I often hear her saying, “Ok now, smile. Say cheese!” to random dolls and toys in the living room. I’ll see if I can get the pictures off that camera tonight. Should be interesting :)

Eve went shopping with Alan to JC Penny's yesterday and came home with a teddy bear. Daddy is a push over :) Just kidding. It's soft and she loves it (teddy and daddy!)
I’m trying to get pictures off the kid camera now and it’s not working. I’ll have to wait until Linux tech support (Alan) is available to help.
Well, another Christmas has come and gone. In the blink of an eye, or so it felt. Joyce came to visit, then Barney, then mom and dad, and we all did our usual celebrating. We missed Rosy and the Johnson side of the family this year. Hopefully we can be a bigger crowd again next year!
Once again we did Christmas Eve at Grandpa and Grandma’s house. Delicious soup, bread, salad, and pizza. Yum, YUM! Crazy kids, wild rides down the stairs, stories, giggles, fun. Christmas morning Alan, Lex, and I were up at 6am, as usual. We opened Lex’s stocking, ate breakfast, and eagerly awaited Eve’s waking. She finally got up at 7:45, just in time for her stocking and a quick breakfast before we headed to church. We went to a beautiful church with nice music, beautiful decorations, and lots to look at. Lex got squirmy near the end, but overall I think they both did really well. Eve seems to love church. She talks about it a lot and loves the music. Then back to our house for presents! Fun, fun. Lots of good stuff, candy, toys, socks, and super cool calendars. Wrapping paper everywhere. Then I kicked everyone out so I could nap the kids (ok, really because I needed a break!) I did a little tidying and started prepping for dinner. This year I made lasagna and Barney made the turkey. It was a pretty delicious meal. Of course.
Today we spent unwinding, digging out the living room, running many loads of dishes, and eating chocolate. That will be “disappearing” soon!
I put all of the pictures up on my Picasa account. Check it out!
![]() |
| Christmas 2010 |
Merry Christmas!


Check out my snazzy new curtains in the kids room. I’ve been thinking about it for awhile now and slowly, slowly finally got around to doing something about it. We used to (until about an hour ago!) have a dark blue fleece blanket nailed up over the window and hanging down weirdly, but now there is a nice smooth curtain covering the window and a nice smooth curtain covering the ugly brown and painted door into storage.
A big thank you to Julie for making the window curtain. It has 100% light blocking material on the backside so hopefully it will keep their room dark when needed. I had no confidence in my ability to sew multiple pieces of fabric together, sew on velcro, and make it all straight and perfectly measured. Good thing Julie can do all that!! As it was, it took me nearly forever to make the door curtain. Measuring, pinning, sewing (mostly) straight lines… hard work!! But doesn’t it look awesome!? The colors look much better in person, so next time you’re around remind me to show off the kids room :)
While I was taking pictures of the curtains Lex wanted me to take pictures of him. OK! He did some “super hero poses” for me. I’m not sure what kind of super hero this is, but I love it anyway!