We are dragging!

I am so tired.  We are so NOT the overscheduled family so when we get a week like this it takes its toll.  Right now it’s 6:30am and the kids are sleeping and I am blogging.  We are off to a slow start.  Yesterday went fairly well.  We did the bike/walk to school thing and Eve walked with a friend. Lex still wanted to stay at the checkpoint with me, but I got him to school just in time.  Then I made it to WW, work, a volunteer meeting, and the market.  Home to get the kids.  Then we ended our day with swim lessons and a PTO meeting.  My first.  It was packed.  Maybe because it was the first of the year? There were lots of K parents!  The kids did great!  Alan came to pick them up after work but they were having fun with the childcare people in the library so he joined me at the meeting instead. I was pushing my luck going to the meeting, but it went well.  Hopefully today does to!

The one over-tired consequence of yesterday was that Lex got frustrated with an assignment at school and ended up under his desk in tears. His teacher emailed me during the day and Lex and I discussed it after school. He has a plan for today so hopefully he can me more successful on this final day of this busy week.  Slowing down next week!

On making friends (or just rambling)

It was a misty, mizzly morning…

foggy reservoir

… and I went for a walk with my friend Elizabeth. We have always been playdate friends, though not long ago we finally came to accept the fact that our kids really don’t like each other. I think we both have known this for quite some time, but we turned a blind eye because we like hanging out together. Our visits usually take place at one house or the other. We drink tea and chat while the kids alternate between bickering, playing together, and playing apart. It worked well enough. Now both of my kids are in school full-time and her son is in school part-time and suddenly we are facing a new reality. Not so suddenly, I suppose. The start of the school year wasn’t exactly a surprise! I miss the hanging out together, drinking tea for hours, but now it seems like there are always other things to do. Things that are best done without kids happen during the day and somehow visiting with friends doesn’t make that list. An unfortunate oversight, I’m afraid.

I was very happy when we came up with the idea to walk and talk. We’re both trying to get in shape (a more ideal shape, anyway!) and so we met at a trail this morning and walked 4 miles, half of it up steep hills. We were sweaty and winded and it felt great! We got caught up, somewhat, on the past few weeks and got exercise and it was a great way to start the day. I hope we can make it happen on a regular basis!

This walk and my social situation at swim lessons reminded me of an article my mom sent me awhile ago. I just found it easily online. I love it when that happens! It’s called Friends of a Certain Age and ran in the NY Times in July. Give it a read if you are of “a certain age” and have friends. Or don’t have friends! :) The subtitle is “Why Is It Hard to Make Friends Over 30?” which is a conversation I’ve actually had with friends before.

At swim lessons the parents wait in the bleachers while the kids swim. Each day I look around and see a handful of acquaintances I know. Parents from playgroups we used to attend, or from pre-school, or friends of friends I’ve met once or twice. Sometimes I get inspired to go talk to someone, but other times I just sit there feeling awkward. Should I go make small talk? What should I say? Why aren’t they coming over to talk to me? High-school insecurities that seem to follow you (or me, at least) through life. It’s like meeting people at a bar except they aren’t total strangers and you don’t have booze for encouragement.

Hmm… I just got distracted by an email from Joyce (yay!) and totally lost my train of thought. So I guess I’m done here. To summarize: I had a great walk this morning and got a chance to catch up with a good friend. Read that article. It’s interesting. Thanks Mema! I am insecure sometimes. Surprise! Joyce is doing ok right now. Yay!

We made it through day three of our super busy week! Day one and two were flawless, day three involved Lex and I showing up half hour early for a cub scouts meeting because I messed up the time (better early than late though!) and Eve dissolving in a ball of tears at the end of the day. Hopefully day four (our busiest) and day five (staring to slow down) go well!

PS. Lex is now selling popcorn for cub scouts. Lemme know if you want some and I’ll get you the details.

Swimming again

I bet each and every one of you are sitting there thinking to yourself, “Hm.. I wonder what Tessa did today. I wonder if she had a good day or not?” Right?! Admit it, you know you are! Well the answer is…. yes! I had a super busy, but surprisingly good day.

I started volunteering for Good Beginnings again, for the first time since before I had kids of my own! After dropping off my own kids at school today I met my first family and spent the morning holding a 6lb baby who slept peacefully in my arms the whole time. Heaven.

Then off to the photo studio to review our family portraits. I forgot to snap a cell phone pic of the pics, sorry. You’ll have to wait a bit longer. I had low expectations, as you know, so I was pleasantly surprised to find a few nice ones. The woman tried to sell us on everything under the sun (hope no one wanted a stand-up cut-out portrait or a metallic photo book of my family for Christmas this year!) but Alan and I stuck to our one free 8″x10″ and went on our way.

Then it was off to school to volunteer in the library. I was worried this year because the kids both wanted me to volunteer on their library day (as I did last year for Lex) but they have library on different days! I lucked out that it works out best to go on Eve’s day and Lex decided it was fair since I went on his day last year. He is really maturing. More on that below.

Then I picked up the kids and we went to the farm to pick up our CSA share. They ran around like crazy people for awhile. Then home for a quick snack and to pack up the swim bag for another round of swimming lessons! I was worried at this point because we were home and they were tired. This is the one point in my day that could have flipped it from good to bed. But it didn’t! Hurray! They both hopped back in the car and off we went for swim lessons!

snack

Did I mention I let them have ice cream with chocolate syrup for snack?! Good to the last drop. I was just tempting the fates today!

We’re back at Dartmouth for their semi-annual lessons. We’ve been twice before (this spring and last spring) and each time it was a challenge to get Lex into the pool. He loved it, eventually, but day one was always tough. I braced myself today, but he surprised me! He cooperated the entire time. Happy boy all the way there, getting changed, googles on, and down the stairs with the rest of the kids. Happy boy. I saw him sitting on the edge of the pool talking to his instructor for a few minutes while all the other kids were in the pool and I started to get nervous, but it wasn’t long before he was in there too! Showing off his freestyle and flip-turns. I’m so proud of how grown up and mature and brave he is getting. Not always, but more and more often these days.

by the pool

Waiting by the pool for lessons to begin.

Eve hopped right in the pool with her instructor and had a happy lesson. She told me later that she didn’t learn anything new, because she knew how to do everything, except the side breathing that she needs to practice. :) She is a confident girl!

eve

Kickboard girl! It’s hard to take good pictures from the bleachers.

After lessons we headed home and faced another potential turning point, but we all survived. Pancakes for dinner, no showers, pjs, stories, snuggles in bed. Happiness is! Here’s hoping we can manage at this pace for four more days!

reading 1

Lex was apparently in the middle of a good book when I made him pause for lessons. Once he was dressed again he immediately picked it back up.

reading 2

Hahah… he cracks me up. Good thing I was watching where he was going!

A penny a stick

We had a huge wind storm here yesterday.  There was a hurricane watch across the state so we’re lucky we just got the winds.  However, the winds knocked down a ton or sticks and small branches.  As I was picking them up this afternoon I offered the kids a penny a stick to help me.  They eagerly agreed!  Eve went for the big sticks (most helpful), but Lex with his savvy went for the small sticks to earn the most money!  He earned $3.00 and she earned $1.09.  Money well spent!  I would have earned well over $10!  To bad no one pays me to pick up sticks in my own yard.

image

Love notes from Lex

Look what I found on my bed last night.

whole note

“Find the five hidden doors. :)”

A love note from my boy! Full of little windows to open. So cute!

top windows

“Dear Mom, I love you so much. Love, Lex”
“Look under your pillow for another note.”

door three

“Here’s a picture for you! Do you like it? __Yes __No”
Like anyone could say no to that?!

door four

“I love you, Mom!”
The smiley face pops up. A little trick he learned in a book and loves putting in cards.

door five

“Read my note!” The note says “I <3 U" and was tucked inside a little pocket he made with tape and paper.[/caption] [caption id="attachment_8710" align="aligncenter" width="500"]under the pillow front Here is the note that was under my pillow. It says “I love you”

under the pillow inside

Who could for ask for more!?!

Is that not the sweetest thing ever?! Truth be told I knew he was working on it. He spent hours on it yesterday morning, not-so-sneakily hiding it each time I got near him. I love how much effort he puts into his projects. I love the beautiful colors. I love Lex!

Paint markers

image

These things have provided MANY hours of creative play. Right now they have a whole game around their painting. They are artists, puppies and passwords are involved, it’s all very complex and keeping them quite busy. Thanks again Kirkwoods!

Hello veggies!

Lex ate almost an entire bowl (grown-up sized bowl, not a little kid snack bowl!) of snow peas before dinner (Eve ate the rest) and this evening, as we were cuddling on the couch watching TV because he couldn’t sleep, he ate a ton of baby carrots!  I was sharing the carrots and when we got near the end he took a the rest as a big handful!

I think that is more veggies than he’s eaten in the entire rest of this year!!  Add that to the watermelon at lunch, pear at snack, and smoothie popsicle for dessert and I think the boy got his nutrients for the day!  Finally!! 

Numbers

In a book we have there is a reference to “number one” and “number two” in the bathroom. I had to explain it to her since we use real words around here. She thought it was hysterical and decided to start using numbers instead of words. The real hysterical thing though is that she can’t remember what number means what!! From the bathroom yesterday I hear her yelling, “Mom, what is the number you go poop with?” She cracks me up!