Category Archives: Uncategorized
First day of school – first grade
The big day finally arrived. Lex slept late (bugger!) and we had to wake him up. I made pancakes for breakfast, not to celebrate but because we were out of most everything else! He fussed a bit about going and tried to hide under the table, but when I got him to talk to me he decided it would be best to leave sooner rather than later so we could arrive a bit early and he could be one of the first ones in the room. I think it’s easier for a kid like him to see the kids trickle in as opposed to having to walk into a full classroom. Unfortunately it seems everyone else had the same idea! The parking lot was packed and Lex immediately got apprehensive again. He dragged his feet into the building, but luckily for me didn’t put up a physical fight. I had to pull him along when we got into the building and he suddenly “forgot” where his classroom was. Good thing he showed it to me over the summer! When we got to the room it was pretty full. He immediately started crying. Poor boy. His best buddy (so sweet!) ran over and said, “Hey brother, welcome back!!” and tried to pull him into the classroom. Lex fell (prat fall really) and wailed louder that he got hurt. His poor friend had huge eyes and felt awful. I found myself trying to reassure both of them. Then a sweet little girl came over and gave Lex a big hug. Lex cried some more and hid under the cubbies. I felt so bad for him. I got his stuff put away and gave him big hugs and left. His teacher took my sobbing son and walked him back into the classroom, while I walked my sobbing self down the hall. Again I was thankful that he did not put up a physical fight.
Eve and I spent the morning grocery shopping. She was so excited for school that she packed her backpack (spare clothes “just in case,” a water bottle “in case I get thirsty” and a snack) and carried it around the grocery store. Then we hit the library quickly, then home for unloading, lunch, a few stories, and back in the car headed to her open house. She starts school tomorrow but today they had an hour to meet the teacher, see the classroom, and meet their classmates. Easy peasy for Evie. She had fun. She was very tired by the end though. Then back in the car to pick up Lex and head home.
Back at Lex’s school he was all smiles at pick-up. He said he had a great day, “except for the very beginning,” and liked gym class best. I guess Tuesday’s are gym days. Good to know. So far he’s planning on going back again tomorrow! :)

I wasn't about to attempt photography today, but here is a picture of him from last week, smiling with his new backpack.
School begins tomorrow…
Tomorrow is the first day of school. My kids love school. Well, they love being there. Getting there is another story (the story of my life with Lex!) Over the past week or so every time I bring up school Lex dodges and avoids the conversation. Eve, on the other hand, is super excited! She is mostly excited for her open house tomorrow (basically a meet-and-greet, her class starts Wednesday).
We had a really nice afternoon today. Lex has been saying for a few days now that he needs more mommy time (I love that he says that!) so today Alan took Eve out to lunch and over to my grandparents house for awhile. Lex and I had planned to go out to lunch and a movie, but instead he decided on a home day so we sat in the living room and played Monopoly all afternoon. When we got hungry we had a picnic snack. When he got bouncy we went outside to ride bikes for 15 minutes before the rain started up again. It was awesome! Even more awesome (for him!) is that he kicked my butt at Monopoly! Fair and square. He had a few lucky cards, managed his money well, bought real estate and houses like crazy and gave me a thorough whooping! Then we wrestled on the floor for a bit, rearranged the living room a touch (photos later) and looked at Red Sox baseball playing cards. He was in HEAVEN and therefore so was I. It was great.
The one downside to our afternoon was when I tried to talk about school. I asked how he was feeling about it (nervous), if there’s anything we can do to help (stop talking about it), does he want a big deal or nothing (nothing!). I had the poor boy in tears in a matter of minutes. I tried to explain how similar it would be to Kindergarten, we talked about which of his friends would be there, what the routine would be… but it was all through tears and him begging me to please stop talking about it. Sigh. I know he will have a great time. So we stopped talking about it for the day. I’m hoping tomorrow isn’t too hard.
Sometimes I feel like a slacker mommy because there are so many cute things I want to do for “back to school” season, like this (isn’t he cute!), and pencil cookies I saw in a magazine (last year!) and a special dinner (PYO tonight, of course) or breakfast or lunch box treat. I didn’t have time to prepare before today and today I decided my time would be best spent on the floor with Lex instead of in the kitchen. I definitely made the right choice there! I take comfort that he doesn’t care for (won’t even participate in usually!) the “back to school” excitement. One less thing for me to worry about… now if only I could stop worrying about it! ;)
I predict it will be tough to get him out of the house in the morning, but I’m hoping that once he’s in his classroom and sees his friends he’ll be happy. Otherwise I’ll be peeling a crying 1st grader off me when the bell rings and I’ll walk away in tears. No fun for anyone.
Tomorrow is a super busy day, but I’ll try to get back online tomorrow night to keep you all posted, as I know you’re now dying to know how the day will go. :)
Find the new feature…
I added a fun new feature to my blog side bar… however it’s still lost on this page. Click to one of the other pages (links at the top) and see if you can find it :)
Quechee Gorge
Friday morning cleaning
I promised the kids an at-home day, but I really meant a cleaning day. Somehow I got lucky and they wanted to help clean too! The dishwasher broke yesterday so we began our day washing two dishwasher loads worth of dishes. Fun for the whole family! (Well, Alan exercised and went to work, so I guess he didn’t get to share in the dish washing excitement)
Before I turned the camera on he kept saying, “Lex Johnson, human dishwasher!” Of course he won’t repeat for the camera.
After we finished the dishes we turned on some Andrew Lloyd Webber at top volume (my choice) and moved on to bathrooms!
They almost made it through both bathrooms before being pulled away by the excitement of jumping on the beds. I’m supposed to be sweeping and mopping the kitchen/dining room right now, but I got pulled away by the excitement of my little laptop :)
Final beach trip of the summer.
Tonight’s posts are light on text but heavy on pictures. I’m tired and don’t have much to say at the moment. I also just noticed I lost my side bar. I don’t know what happened, but I’m hoping maybe if I ignore the problem for a few days it will return on it’s own. Maybe it went to the beach today too.
We went back to the Atlantic today, this time with Julie and kids. The weather was beautiful and we had a great time! The kids played nicely together and even made friends with other kids on the beach, the mommies got to chat and life was good.

The kids made friends with some older kids who were building very deep holes. At one point I glanced over at Lex and saw this.
We stopped for candy on the way home. Seriously. I was falling asleep at the wheel so I stopped at a gas station for a bathroom break and we all picked out candy. I let them each get their own and they were overwhelmed with the idea and the options. Lex just mindlessly manhandled every thing on the shelf until I realized that he had no idea what any of the candy options were. He eventually decided on plain chocolate (Hershey’s milk chocolate bar, something he’s had before), Eve went for a brightly colored Skittles packet, and I went for my old standby, Reese’s peanut butter cups. Yum! There was no sleeping on the road after that!
When we got home Eve fell apart. No surprise there. A long day at the beach, no rest, and candy for dinner will do that to a four year old. I showered her and put her to bed in tears. Lex had a nice dinner and stories with Alan. Overall a nice end to the day (for most of us).
A few local hurricane pics
I was thinking about posting some of the really impressive local pictures I’ve seen on Facebook, but I’m too lazy for that right now. Instead I’ll just post a few I took yesterday. We had to go out in the afternoon for a doctor’s appointment and it ended up being really quick, so I took the kids for a little drive down town to see what we could see. We ended up parking for a bit and walking around. So much for my earlier comments on disaster tourism.
- We found huge mushrooms outside the doctor’s office.
- A silt filled parking lot.
- The water left neat patterns in the silt.
- The river is lower now, but was very high. Rushing water pulled that railroad car over.
- A damp and muddy parking lot.
- I think the water took down this bridge.
- Flat trees
- Here you can see the line in the grass where the water reached.
- The front loaders are out in force, clearing out the mud.
- The distinct water line is amazing in some places.
- Alan and I went out to dinner and drove by the other side of the dam.
- The clouds were beautiful.
A morning walk
Yesterday we went out for a morning, post-hurricane walk. I was tempted to hop in the car and do some disaster touring, but… well, that’s kind of morbid and probably rude and didn’t seem appropriate with kids. So instead we packed the backpack (by “we” of course I mean “I”) and headed out for an adventure on foot. We decided to walk down the hill to check out the river and the dam, to see if we had any flooding within walking distance.
We had a great time. The weather was beautiful, we met a few friends along the way, the water was calm, the dam was releasing and therefore quite interesting to see, and I let them eat ice cream along the way. What more can you ask for?!
Here are some photos from our walk:

We found a little pavillion by the dam so we sat and watched the water. The kids loved it and wanted to go home and get some toys and books and lunch and come back. I need to remember that for another day.

I have never been to the dam before so I have no idea if this is impressive post-hurricane water or just a normal day.
Hurricane Irene
I’m feeling very unsettled today. Hurricane Irene swept through the northeast yesterday and today, leaving a path of confusion and destruction. The hubbub predicted winds reaching 100mph around here. The stores are sold out of batteries, flashlights, and bottled water. Talk of evacuation (not for VT, of course) and bathtub filling was everywhere. Alan watched the radar map closely (he had to for work) and we waited. The rains came this morning, heavy at times, but minimal winds. He went into work to shut down all the computers. By late afternoon it was down to a drizzle and all seemed fine. At my house. However, I felt myself being drawn to Facebook all day, my primary source of news (pitiful, I know) and I read about and watched the destruction all around us. Roads washed out, friends being evacuated by boat from top floor apartments, bridges closed and washed away… it’s all so powerful!
This is the Quechee Covered Bridge, coming in to downtown Quechee. The bridge is no longer, and the real estate office right on the corner is destroyed. Simon Pearce, right next to the real estate office, has river running through the restaurant and show room. Their basement, including turbines and glass blowing studio, is under water. There is millions of dollars in damage right there alone, not even counting the rest of the town, county, and state! (by the way, this is not my video!)
We were also watching videos of update NY being flooded. Rivers running through towns and villages. Giant hay bales (the marshmallows) floating down main street. It’s all just so amazing and awesome and scary.
To add to my unease, poor Joyce’s flight to Guam on Saturday was canceled well before the storm really hit NYC and her and Rosy have been a stranded down there. They are now trying to make their way back to Franklin, in the dark, with most of the state closed. I worry, I can’t help it. And, this is totally trivial but I’m going to say it anyway, Alan watched a disturbing (to me) show during quiet time while I tried to read the paper. And he is in the process of putting up new ceiling lighting in the living room. I’m not sure if I like it yet, but the whole look and feel in the room is different. All afternoon the floor was littered with Transformers (Lex) and light/electrical bits and pieces (Alan). We were all a bit short with one another, the kids were wired, and I just wanted to eat. Definitely an off, unsettling day. HOWEVER, that said, here is the worst of the flooding we have experienced, so I can hardly complain.
Watch the progression as my kids get messier and messier. I have a bunch of videos that I’m uploading, but it’s slow going at the moment so they may be part of another post tomorrow.

Lex filled Eve's hat with muddy water and put it on his head. Somehow it held the water and he walked around with a wiggly jiggly hat on his head.
I’m still trying to decide if this makes me fun mommy or totally insane? They had fun and washed up just fine, so as long as they don’t come down with some crazy sickness tomorrow I’m gonna stick with fun mommy! :)
Now the winds are picking up again, but the kids are asleep, Alan is home, the candles are out, and we have a big flashlight, so all is well. Tomorrow will bring what it will bring, including cresting rivers and more flooding. Thank goodness we live on top of a hill.
Here is a link to another video of another covered bridge in VT. It eventually collapsed (not in the video). See the propane tank floating by? Apparently that is a big problem all around. A bunch of tanks leaked around the Quechee covered bridge (above) and caused fumes throughout the town. They have also closed the Quechee Gorge bridge (on Rt 4, over the gorge) because of the buildup of propane tanks under the bridge. They are worried they will exploded and bring down the bridge. They’re not even letting emergency vehicles pass! Just insane! I need to get off this computer and go to bed, but the incoming videos and photos are just amazing!




















































