Yogurt

We eat so much yogurt in this house that I form think about making it from scratch. I don’t though because the yogurt maker costs a lot and past experience shows that when I make thing from scratch (like bagels, for instance) the kids don’t eat it. Not always, of course, they love the bread and cookies I make, but I was worried to make the investment in a yogurt maker with unsure results. That changed this week when I bought one from a lady in a parking lot! :) Kidding, kind of. She was selling it, unopened, as part of their kitchen decluttering. The price was unbeatable so I bought it! :)

Following the instructions exactly is a bit onerous and takes about 16 hours (1hr hands on). That’s what we did yesterday, and by “we” I mostly mean “I” while the kids played outside! Last night I was pretty ready to scrap the whole thing.

yogurt maker

The yogurt maker, minus lids. We made maple yogurt as our first batch.

However, this morning I said “Who wants to try some fresh homemade yogurt?” and my anxious eat said “Oh, I do!!” In all seriousness, no sarcasm at all. Then I remembered that the final step was it let it chill in the fridge for at least three hours. More waiting…

lex putting on the lids

Lex put the lids on for me and put them all in the fridge. He was eager to sample.

This afternoon we dug into them as soon as we got home. Eager Lex went first. He loved it! He even said it was better than store bought yogurt!

lex

Yum!

eve

This is Eve's opinion on things in general these days. (I like the cute little cups too!)

I haven’t done the math yet, but I suspect that at $1.09/ea for the store stuff we buy, this is probably going to save me some money! Tomorrow we try an alternate method that should speed up the hands on time significantly. Hopefully that too comes out good!

Running

In an animal-cracker induced madness last night I signed myself up for a 5K. One that includes “a mother of a hill!” Eek! Positive self-motivation doesn’t seem to work for me, so I thought I’d try negative self-motivation. :) That worked well last time. It sucks showing up for a race when you KNOW you can’t run it! What’s a girl to do? Practice! Today I went out for my first run of the season (my treadmill runs at the gym don’t count because they are boring and totally uninspiring!) I can barely call today’s outing a run, more like a slow jog with extended periods of walking, but it’s a start!

Source: chasefear.com via Tessa on Pinterest

I even managed to talk Alan and Rosy into running with me!! Anyone want to babysit on May 5th? I’ll treat you to free (virgin) margaritas!

PS. This 5K is for Good Beginnings, but not MINE. It is a franchise type thing and they serve different counties and have different services. Still a good cause though!

Birthday count-down

The count-down to Eve’s birthday has begun. She has been talking about it for months and awhile ago we started making her a birthday chain. The idea she had was time-consuming though and at that time we were 52 days away from her birthday! Needless to say we did not finish the count-down chain. However, we got 24 “cakes” made on the chain so when I realized we were 24 days away from her birthday I “remembered” and got the chain back out! She was excited and we hung it up. Now each morning she cuts off one of the cakes as the count-down continues. She loves waking up and announcing “It’s time to cut a cake!” :) It makes me giggle every morning.

eve

First thing in the morning, cutting a cake. :)

She also made herself a birthday list last month. She hasn’t added anything to it since the original effort, but here it is.

list

Dog, Flowers, American Girl, Panera Card (she has been practicing her lowercase a, which often looks more like a q)

Last week we started planning her birthday party. It will be a Pet Show party and all of her friends will bring their favorite pet (stuffed animals only!) We’re going to have a pet show with awards (fluffiest pet, most colorful pet, etc.) and pet-themed games and projects. We are expecting quite a crowd! That will be on her birthday morning, then we’ll have a family party (pizza and cake, pets optional) in the afternoon/evening. Then we will all crash! I have lots of great ideas in my head, now I just need to find the motivation (somewhere, somehow!) to get it done!

Classic

We have a playdate going on here, right now. One of Eve’s friends and one of Lex’s friends. I thought they would all play nicely together, or perhaps apart, and I would get some work done. Turns out we’ve hit the classic boy/girl playdate age. Eve and her friend are upstairs playing with blocks and Lex and his friend are supposed to be playing in the office. Instead, on the whim of his friend, they keep running upstairs and busting open the door. The girls scream and shriek appropriately, then the boys laugh and run away. Classic.

I just had to bust up the game because Eve’s friend did not seem to be enjoying the game. In fact, she looked like she was about ready to leave.

I like playdates here because I love seeing how the kids all interact and who has what ideas. I stay out of their way, for the most part, but I love to quietly overhear. :)

… … … …

Here are a few pictures from the playdate…

birthday chain

We hung up Eve's birthday chain today. I wanted a nice picture of Eve standing by it, but this is the best they gave me! See the chain hanging from the ceiling by her friend?

happy

Pure happiness.

girls

The girls...

boys

... and the boys.

Monday Memories

Each Monday they have an assignment called Monday Memories. The teacher asks what they did over the weekend (or vacation, in this case) and she types up one sentence for them. They then illustrate and write more. I think they are cute. This morning when we came in his teacher greeted him and asked what he did this weekend. He got big, almost teary eyes, and turned to me and said, “Oh no, I forgot what we did this weekend!” I laughed. That’s the supportive mom I am! :) Then I reviewed the weekend with him.

Here are a few recent ones.

super bowl

Super Bowl weekend

post vaca

Post vacation memories.

Seusstival

As a Dartmouth grad Dr. Seuss is taken quite seriously around here. He is often the theme of Dartmouth’s winter carnival, many locals have stories to tell (Eve’s teacher met him), and each year to celebrate his birthday they hold a Seusstival! Actually, I don’t really know how long they’ve been doing that since this is the first year we attended. Expecting a carnival-like atmosphere we headed to the local Seusstival yesterday. It was fun, though not quite what I was expecting. We got there just as a local production of The Lorax was ending. We missed the show but we got to see lots of kids running around in great Seuss-ish costumes. The festival had face painting, books for sale, a bake sale, a silent auction, and a near-continuous reading of Dr. Seuss stories, all read by local important people, none of whom I knew. The first story we made it for was read by Hannah Kearney, local resident and Olympic Gold Medalist! I recognized the name but couldn’t, until yesterday, pick her face from a crowd. She did an excellent job reading One Fish, Two Fish. :)

face painting

Eve always goes for the face painting, and always requests a cat face :)

stories

Hannah Kearney reading One Fish, Two Fish by Dr. Seuss.

cake

One of the many Dr. Seuss themed cakes in the silent auction. Eve begged me to buy her a cake. Like we need THAT in the house! When we left the auction was up to $150 for this one! (it was the most expensive there)

paintin

Back home Eve felt the urge to create. She told us yesterday that she wants to be an illustrator when she grows up.